What a lovely start to the day. After a fairly diabolical nights sleep at the in laws (where we all have to cram into one room and I generally get kept up most of the night by DB1 muttering and shuffling around on his ready bed and DB2 wailing at somewhat more frequent intervals than normal) I got treated to a LIE IN. Wow. A lie in. A whole extra hour and a half of unadulterated, indulgent sleep, after the boys had woken up.

Which led me to ponder. When, oh when, did a 7:30am wake up become a SODDING LIE IN? Suddenly the halcyon days of my youth have an almost unreal glow of idyllic decadence to them…those unabandoned, gleeful, frivolous days before having kids. When OH and I would think nothing of wallowing under the duvet until midday, before crawling downstairs and slumping in front of the tv for a couple of hours. Before retreating to bed again. I cannot even comprehend doing that now. Instead, to summarise in no more than ten words, my average day is wake up, rush around, trip over toys, clear up poo. How times have changed!

This last week has been a particular challenge, I must say. DB1, prior to last Tuesday, had really been quite angelic as of late. All smiles and cute behaviour and cuddles for mummy. Then Tuesday seemed to see him transform, as if by magic (or some sort of devilish necromancy) into a stroppy teenager. In a toddlers body. What a terrifying combination! I claimed to OH that he was like a ‘demon possessed’. OH then smugly informed me that such a thing was not possible, as by their very definition, it was demons who did the possessing. I had to point out at this conjecture that perhaps, some demons are bigger than others, and hence are able to possess lesser demons. I also made a mental note to add OH to my sh*t list, for coming out with such a faecitious comment. (He likes to do this from time to time, just to perhaps remind me that, no matter how annoying some of the things that DB1 says are, they simply cannot compete with the deliberately irritating comments of his father.)

Anyway, I digress. The ‘demon possessed’ (please, don’t you start.) has been a regular fountain of ‘NO’s’, ‘I WON’T’S’ and ‘GO AWAY’S this week. Which has coincided most beautifully with having a frantic week work-wise. Naturally. Always the way, isn’t it…

But hey, Pips Garden is now fully up and running and operational (we hope, optimistically, nervously checking our inbox every two minutes for fresh orders…) and despite all the stresses and strains to get there, it is an achievement to be proud of. Might have to get one of our personalised monster tops made for DB1 though…I think he’s earnt it…

