Tags

, ,

I am now starting my fourth week on the Fast Diet.

For those who are still not quite sure what this entails (though I’m sure you will have heard of the name at least, as ‘fast’ mania seems to be sweeping the nation!), the premise is very simple. Eat normally, except for two days a week, where you limit your calorie intake to 500 calories per day. (or 600 if you are a lucky man. Hmmph.)

Now, I am very much aware that, in our image obsessed society, it is not a great thing to continually harp on about weight. After all, there are people in the world who would probably dearly LOVE to be able to do something as frivolous as diet, rather than worrying on a daily basis where their next meal is coming from. That is why I’m choosing rather deliberately to veer off the ‘weight’ thing and instead, focus on the health thing. I will say though, for those who are looking for a successful weight loss diet, then my experience of it so far has been positive. I have shed 8lb in just over 3 weeks, and bought a pair of size 8 jeans at the weekend (£10 in the sale at Urban outfitters- bargain!! And flares! Hooray! My life is complete. I love flares.) For anyone who needs to lose dramatic amounts, this is definitely the way to go.

But what’s really floated my boat has been the energy. I cannot tell you how much I am enjoying having energy again. Ok, so there is still the odd day where the boys wear me out and I feel knackered, but I feel in general as though I’ve been given a new lease of life. I was playing with the boys yesterday actually, racing round the house with them; and I found myself thinking.. a few weeks ago, I would not have been able to do this. I would have been desperately trying to, but flagging behind after just a few minutes, feeling exhausted.

(Energetic, and not a tin of spinach in sight. How’s that for a result!)

I’ve also been reading the official book recently (lent to me by my business partner, thanks mate!) with great interest. Obviously, the book discusses a lot of the science behind the diet, and exactly why its a bit of a revolution.

As I was reading it, I found myself thinking about my psychological response to the fast days. It was quite interesting.

I find myself actually looking forward to the fast days. Which, if you think about it, is odd. Why on earth, would I look forward to depriving myself of all the things I enjoy? The haribo? The chocolate? The various other awful bits of crap that I pop unthinkingly into my mouth on a very regular basis?

Then I was reminded of a quote from a song by The Smiths.

‘Does the body rule the mind, or does the mind rule the body?’

And that kind of answered it for me. Part of the challenge of this diet is gaining mastery over your body, about not being a slave to capricious yearnings for fatty foods etc. In short – I am enjoying the challenge!

As per usual, the gospel according to Morrissey sums it up perfectly. Ha ha!!

