Tags

, , , ,

Say the word “gnocchi” to my OH, and the likelihood is, he will start to giggle. The reason for this is that I have tried to make gnocchi from scratch twice, and twice it has been an epic, and I mean epic failure, of magnificent proportions.

I don’t know why. But for reasons best known to the powers that be, despite being a fairly ok cook in all other aspects, I am a miserable embarrassing novice when it comes to the fine art of creating a certain type of Italian potato dumpling.

For this reason, and this reason alone, I will not be creating the actual gnocchi from scratch, but using shop bought. Believe me, it’s better that way. Plus I don’t think I could bear OH ridiculing me a third time…a hat-trick of gnocchi mortifications is more than I can tolerate.

Anyway. Moving on.

Creamy Pea and (Quorn) Sausage Gnocci

You will need:

1) A packet of gnocchi. (by all means make it from scratch, but don’t show off the results to me, as I am likely to be bitter…)

2) A tbsp of olive oil.

3) 2 large eggs.

4) 4 quorn sausages (meat ones are fine if you’d rather!)

5) About 250ml cream (Ive just realised I’ve only got about 100ml left, so am going to artfully add some natural yoghurt too and hope for the best…I’ll let you know how it turns out!)

6) About 30g of fresh grated Parmesan.

7) 200g frozen peas

8) A small handful of chopped mint

20130813-165251.jpg

How to make it:

1) Firstly, cook the sausages according to packet instructions, with the olive oil. (exactly the same for meat ones!) Then set to one side.

20130813-165658.jpg

2) While that’s going on, crack the eggs into a saucepan, add the cream (plus yoghurt if you’re in the same boat as me!), Parmesan and mint and whisk on a very gentle heat.

20130813-170420.jpg

3) In another saucepan, bring some water to boil and add the frozen peas. Boil for around 4 minutes. (A little tip, a small half tsp of sugar will help bring out their natural sweetness, if you have fussy kids! I’m personally going without.)

20130813-170850.jpg

4) Take the cream mix off the heat, and whilst the peas are cooking, chop the sausages into small segments (diagonal always looks quite nice!)

5) When the peas are done, drain (preserving the water in another pan) and then use the pea-water to cook the gnocchi on the hob. It tends to need around 2 minutes of cooking, but the telling sign is when they start bobbing to the surface. Meanwhile, mash up the peas with a fork and add to the cream mix, along with the sausages.

20130813-171942.jpg

6) Finally, add the gnocchi and serve!

20130813-172720.jpg

Total Cost: This would probably be cheaper if you made the gnocchi yourself… as you know, I chickened out! Total cost was thus about £5.00, which is £1.25 per head.

The Verdict? Not a success with the boys at all! DB2 flat out refused to even consider it and DB1 manfully tried about three pieces of gnocchi before claiming that he didn’t like it. But hey, you can’t win ’em all! My view on it was that it was really nicely flavoured (pea and mint are always a winner) but could perhaps do with being a bit less creamy. (maybe it was because I used yoghurt too?) I think I’d go for something a little lighter next time. In fact, I’d wager that a simple combo of peas, olive oil and mint would work brilliantly. (bet the boys still wouldn’t eat it though…)

