Tags

, , , ,

Tonight’s tea is a recipe by a chef I happen to quite like, Anthony Worrall Thompson. I’ve used a few of his recipes in the past, and nicked a few ideas off him; his recipes often translate quite well for a young audience!

Today, there will be no alterations though, I’m going pure AWT with this one…and I’ve not had it before, so it will be interesting to see how it turns out!

Roast Butternut Squash with Savoury RicottaAnthony Worrall Thompson.

You will need:

1) 2 butternut squash, halved and seeded. (be warned, you’ll need a big knife to halve a butternut squash!)

2) One bunch of parsley, leaves only (I’m using dried, as I have no fresh!)

3) 175g ricotta cheese

4) 225g mozzarella (I’m only using 150g as Im keeping costs down, didn’t want to have to buy an extra bag!)

5) 6tbsp olive oil

6) salt and pepper (leave out the salt for kids)

7) 4 garlic cloves, roughly chopped

8) 1/4 tsp chilli flakes

9) pinch of grated nutmeg

He also recommends 2tbsp rosemary leaves and 85g gorgonzola, but I’m choosing to leave out, as I’m keeping costs down!

20130814-163807.jpg

How to make it:

1) Preheat the oven to 200c and chop up the butternut squash, herbs (if using fresh) and garlic.

20130814-165204.jpg

2) Drizzle the butternut squash with 2tbsp olive oil and add the rosemary (if using) by sprinkling over. I’m actually compensating by using rosemary infused oil (it was a gift…honestly! I’m not that big a ponce!) Pop in the oven and roast for 50mins.

20130814-165535.jpg

3) Meanwhile, if using fresh rosemary, parsley etc, blend them with the nutmeg, garlic and chilli flakes to make a paste. I’m not using fresh, so I’m just mashing them about a bit in a bowl. Add the remaining two tbsp of olive oil and then the cheeses, until you’ve got a nice cheesy mash. Ive also added some dried parmesan, as i think it could do with a bit more ‘bite’…entirely up to you of course! After mashing, put to one side.

20130814-170138.jpg

4) After the 50 mins is up, remove the squash from the oven, and fill the holes with the cheese. Pop back in the oven for 15 mins.

20130814-174310.jpg

5) Remove and serve! (salad is probably a nice accompaniment, but we’ve run out. Boo.)

20130814-175531.jpg

Total Cost: Butternut squashes aren’t the cheapest of things, but in total, this was still under £5.00. I’d estimate around £4.70 to be exact, so around £1.17ish per person!

The Verdict? Ha ha, definitely an ‘adult’ dish I think! Despite the fairly mellow and sweet flavours, the boys were a bit unnerved by the presentation. They’ve had butternut squash before, but only blended in soup or in a curry, they’ve never had it presented to them in it’s undiluted form! Thus, they didn’t really eat any. Sigh! Myself and OH really liked it though. I particularly liked the presentational touch of the ricotta mix in it’s own little ‘pot’ in the butternut squash, it pleased my aesthetic eye, tee hee. Despite me thinking that one half wouldn’t be enough, I’m actually fairly full now. And I’d recommend it. Pleasant mild flavours, and very delicious.

