Tags

, , , ,

I thought to myself…I’ve not made a nice soup in a while; and I have a rare moment of the boys being out with OH this morning, so I thought I’d have a go at rustling up a Thai style soup.

I’m basically employing a basic working knowledge of what goes in to a traditional Thai soup…plus a few extras. So fingers crossed and here we go!

Thai Style Coconut ‘Chicken’ Soup

You will need:

1) Some Quorn pieces, not loads, only a generous handful to feed four.

2) 2 tins of coconut milk. (be warned, this is nutritious but calorific!)

3) 2 inch piece of fresh ginger, peeled and chopped. (dried ground ginger is fine in a pinch!)

4) half a lime juice and it’s zest

5) tsp dried chilli flakes.

6) 2tsp sugar.

7) A big handful of fresh coriander, chopped.

8) two lemongrass stalks, finely chopped.

20130817-115633.jpg

How to make it:

1) Firstly, pre-cook the Quorn pieces in a little oil on the hob. Whilst they are cooking, chop the ginger and lemongrass if you haven’t already.

20130817-120631.jpg

2) Put the Quorn pieces to one side, then add all ingredients, apart from the chicken pieces, into a big saucepan. Simmer uncovered for around 10 mins.

20130817-121345.jpg

3)Then add the chicken pieces and cook for another 5 mins or so, to warm through.

4) Pour into bowls and serve! An ideal accompaniment would be some Jasmine rice, but we’re having bread because it needs using up…cross cultural blending, ha ha!

20130817-122336.jpg

Total Cost: I saved myself quite a lot, as I bought the coconut milk from Approved Food, in supermarkets, I believe it is £1.00 a tin. So, cost for us was about £3.00, normally it would be £4.00! (£1.00 a head.)

The Verdict? A very nice flavour, though don’t add too much lime, as I did by mistake (measuring is a good idea!) Myself and OH enjoyed it and the bread actually worked fine with it, but the kids, sadly, were less than impressed. Still, in fairness to them, there were some fairly sophisticated flavours going on there, and they both gave it a go. Perhaps not one for the little’uns!

