Tags

, , , , , ,

I’m ploughing my way stoically through a fast day today.

I’ve been trying to ‘up my efforts’ a little by doing a more’pure’ kind of fast; ie not eating anything until quite late at night…and I find it does make you feel quite sorted out and generally better. Obviously, it’s different for everybody, and this technique may not work for others. But I’d recommend giving it a go!

Tonight’s recipe (for the smalls and for the OH, not for me, as I’m going for a full-ish fast) is probably suitable for fasters, as it would not be very calorific at all, especially if you serve yourself less of the potatoes!

Hopefully, it should be a good one for the kids as well…but you never know with my fussy pair, especially in the mood they are in today. Honestly. Don’t get me started.

I’m using Quorn ready-made meatballs, as meatballs are one thing that tend not to translate too well for vegetarians. However, as I remember, meatballs are pretty easy to make from scratch for meat-eaters…isn’t it just a case of rolling mince and some herbs into balls, them frying? (Please correct me if I am wrong!)

Anyway, enough small talk, let’s get started!

Meatball Stew

You will need:

1) One bag of Quorn meatballs.

2) 2 onions, peeled and roughly chopped.

3) 2 cloves of garlic, peeled and chopped.

4) About four potatoes, peeled and cut into bite sized chunks.

5) About three carrots, peeled and cut into chunks/ strips.

6) 1tbsp paprika.

7) 2 tsp dried parsley.

8) half a pint of water.

9) one tin of chopped tomatoes.

10) 1 tbsp olive oil

20130819-160608.jpg

How to make it:

1) Briefly fry the onion and garlic in the olive oil; in a large saucepan / frying pan until softened.

20130819-161544.jpg

2) Next, add the Quorn meatballs, and fry gently until browned. (You may need to add a splash more oil if they start to stick.)

20130819-162333.jpg

3) Add the water, then the potatoes and carrots. Bring to the boil, then simmer for 10-15 mins, covered.

20130819-164448.jpg

4) Add the tomatoes and herbs and simmer uncovered for another ten minutes or so, stirring occasionally, until the potatoes and carrots are nice and tender.

20130819-165000.jpg

5) Serve immediately with some nice crusty bread, or on its own!

20130819-165838.jpg

Total Cost? About £4.00. So £1.00 a head.

The Verdict? Met with approval, I think! The kids liked the flavour (tomato based things tend to work well for them) and the meatballs and carrots. Potatoes were a bit neglected on the plate though! Overall, a success!

