Tags

, ,

Well – we’ve finally taken the plunge and there is no chocolate in our house.

I repeat… no chocolate.

I cannot remember the last time we had no chocolate in the house. It’s certainly been years, not months. Frightening, eh! OH was initially retiscent about joining me on this ‘no chocolate’ thing, in a bid to start cutting down our sugar intake, but now he is fully on board. I think he realised that his chocolate consumption was getting a bit mad too!

Why am I doing it, I hear you ask? Well, surprisingly, its nothing to do with weight loss. Neither myself or my husband want to lose weight.

(So why the hell am I doing it, eh?)

It’s a number of things that have spurred me on to give it a go.

  • Health. As you know, OH had a health scare a while back, which caused me to seriously re-assess what we were eating full-stop. I’ve also had issues with IBS and to be honest, I’ve really started to wonder how much of it is caused by what I eat. Perhaps, just perhaps…this will help!
  • Thinking about what’s ‘natural’. I just sort of started to think about it in depth recently, and when I really really thought about it, I thought, ‘it’s pretty weird for humans to fill themselves up on stuff that has nothing good in it whatsoever’. It sort of defeats the objective of eating at all, doesn’t it, really! I guess I’ve been seeing it more and more like our bodies are machines, and if we don’t look after them, they’ll suffer. Makes sense really, doesn’t it.
  • Addiction. Don’t laugh. I was definitely addicted. Even now, only one day into it, I’m salivating at the thought of that little thrilling sugar rush; that instant hit of pleasure as I stuff the chocolate into my mouth. It’s as bad as a drug, in its own way, I swear! I don’t like to be dependent on anything, so this addiction was not making me a happy bunny.
  • My boys. I saw a mum recently feeding her child (aged 18 months max) a milky bar, a packet of crisps and a can of fanta. Now, that’s an extreme example, but when I stopped to think about it, I thought, ‘am I better?’ I let them have cakes, biscuits…I think the odd treat is cool, after all, it soon becomes forbidden fruit if you stop it entirely, but it was getting silly. I think perhaps I was guiltily giving them ‘treats’ to compensate for my own feelings of guilt, working when I felt I should be playing with them!

So there you have it. My reasons. I’m hoping those reasons will fire me up enough to ban the sweet stuff from the house.

Oh yes, that includes my beloved Haribo too. I’ve even stopped eating veggie Haribo recently, so serious has my addiction become. It ends now! Hee hee!

Wish me luck; I think these next few days might be a little bit of a challenge, but we’re going to give it a good old go. I don’t think I’d say ‘never again’ to chocolate, but I want it to just be an occasional thing; an ice cream when visiting the beach, a pudding at a wedding…not an everyday ‘I’ve had a knackering time of it and I want to fill my face with sugar now’ type thing.

I’ll let you know how I get on! Stay tuned for tonight’s meal…a Lentil based delight! (oh the boys will be pleased…ha ha!)

