Tags

, , , ,

I was going to do something a little lighter tonight, but poor old DB1 is looking wan and tired after his afternoon at pre-school, so it’s an impromptu change of plan! Bring in the carbohydrates to re-energise poor old flagging Db1!

This recipe is a doozy, because you can play around with the flavours according to your taste. If you like it spicy, add some more chilli powder, or some oregano to bring it over to the Med a little. Your choice!

Feisty Bean Enchiladas

You will need:

1) 8 flour tortillas. (I’m using some garlic ones, as they were cheap in Aldi…I’ll let you know how they work!)

2) 2 cans of beans; whatever you fancy. I’m using kidney beans and butter beans (it’s what I’ve got in my cupboard)

3) 1 onion, peeled and chopped.

4) 1 clove of garlic, peeled and chopped.

5) 2 tins of chopped tomatoes.

6) 1 tbsp tomato purée.

7) A bowl of grated cheddar cheese.

8) 1 tsp mild chilli powder.

9) A good dollop of plain yoghurt to finish.

10) olive oil, to grease oven dish and to fry onion.

I’m also using some tinned sweetcorn and a courgette, merely because it needs using up! I’ve not tried it with these before…I’ll let you know if it works!

20131015-163500.jpg

How to make it:

1) preheat the oven to 200c and prepare your onions etc if you haven’t already. Also, grease a suitably large oven proof dish.

2) Heat some oil in a large saucepan and gently fry the onion and garlic.

20131015-165122.jpg

3) Add the tomatoes, beans, purée, chilli powder (and sweetcorn and courgettes, if you’re using any like me!) Bring to the boil, then simmer for 20 minutes, or until the mixture has thickened up. You may need to stir more towards the end, in case it starts to stick.

20131015-165528.jpg

4) When the sauce is thickened, get your first tortilla and dollop some of the tomato mix in the middle. Spread it all over, then add a sprinkle of cheese. Roll up and place in the oven dish. (Basically, you want half the cheese in the tortillas and half reserved for the topping.)

20131015-171452.jpg

20131015-171603.jpg

5) Pop it in the oven for around 10-15 minutes, or until the cheese has turned golden. Serve with a dollop of plain yoghurt and enjoy!

20131015-173026.jpg
Check this out for presentation…HA HA! It…ahem…fell apart during the transportation from dish to plate…

Total Cost: Around £3.20. So I believe that is 80p or something like that, per person.

The Verdict? I was fully expecting that to be completely rejected…how wrong I was! Both boys were packing it away (though as expected, the beans and courgette were met with a rather lukewarm response). I really enjoyed mine…though be warned, this is hugely filling! I was completely stuffed after just one and a half tortillas!

