Tags

, , , ,

Hello! It’s been a while since I last posted; call it the Christmas effect! Kids are hectic, present buying is in full swing and work, as predicted, is ramping up a good’un.

This may go some way to explaining why tonight’s is a quickie. It is based on a recipe that I vaguely remember seeing in a magazine (possibly the Sainsburys one?) but I can’t for the life of me quite remember where. I remember thinking ‘ooh that looks super easy and tasty to boot’ though, so here’s to hoping that it lives up to expectations and that I remember the key ingredients correctly. As per usual, there’s a bit of poetic licence involved…

Gnocchi Bake

You will need:

1) One bag of gnocchi.

2) One onion, peeled and chopped.

3) One green pepper, deseeded and chopped.

4) One courgette, chopped.

5) One tin of chopped tomatoes.

6) One Mozarella ball, drained and sliced up thinly.

7) 100g feta cheese.

8) A splash of red wine (if feeling decadent, ha ha!)

9) Olive oil for frying.

10) A tsp dried basil

11) a tsp chilli powder, for an optional kick. Up to you.

12) Some breadcrumbs to sprinkle on top.

20131105-165011.jpg

How to Make it (I hope)

1) Heat about a teaspoon of olive oil in a pan, and fry the onion, courgette and pepper for around five minutes.

20131105-165736.jpg

2) Meanwhile, turn the grill on to high. And meanwhile meanwhile, get some water in a saucepan, boil it, and cook the gnocchi according to packet instructions. Then drain and set aside.

3) Add the chopped tomatoes (and wine, if using) to the peppers etc and simmer gently, allowing the tomatoes to thicken. Once the sauce has thickened, add the basil and chilli powder (if using).

20131105-170806.jpg

4) Mix the gnocchi with the tomatoes etc, then pour into an oven proof dish. Sprinkle the cheeses and breadcrumbs over the top, then grill for a few minutes, or until the cheese has melted.

20131105-172428.jpg

Total Cost: Roughly £2.75 in total. So around 70p each, I think?

The Verdict? Initial resistance, but I wasn’t anticipating much else, as historically, gnocchi has not been popular with the smalls. However, they both did pretty well with it in the end, and ate a good amount of it. My verdict was that it was reeeeally tasty! (If I do say so myself!) A filling, carby meal with lots of flavours going on.

